“Just a Kid”

18 12 2010

This is an e-mail I received from Angie Cinco, age 15.

 

 

My name is Angie Cinco, I’m only 15, and full blown butch. Most cant tell that I’m a girl. I’m in an awesome relationship with a girl just a day younger than me, and I love her very much. she wants to come out to everyone but is scared shes going to turned out by her mother and all of her friends, I’ve been in her position. i came out when i was just 13, and my mother didn’t take it well. I actually got kicked out of the house for it. We’re in love. plain and simple. We’ve been friends since diapers. Once I came out, she admitted to me she was too, and figured I wouldn’t judge her, and it turns out, we’ve had a crush on each other since we were little. My life has been a journey so far, and there’s no doubt that it will continue to be one well into the future.  Through the name callings, not knowing what to wear to fancy sporting events, the turning of the straight girls, the abuse, its all worth it to know I’m myself, and not denying anything to anyone. I’m a butch and proud of it. I may be young, but I’ve been through it all – the good and bad.

Actions

Information

One response

18 01 2011
FeistyAmazon

Maybe you can get yourself to an organization like LYRIC an organization for Lavendar Youth, or a Gay/Straight Alliance. You may have to keep your feelings to yourself to keep yourself physically safe and in a home. You don’t want to be put out on the streets before you are ready, or with a job and able to be fully financially and legally independent. Another group might be Parents and Friends of Lesbians and Gays or your local LGBT center. Perhaps there’s a lesbian friendly counselor at school you can talk to.

I never would recommend being in the closet, but it sounds like if she or you blurts your status to the world, it could have very dire physical and emotional consequences. Best to work on finding supportive community instead where you can fully be yourselves.
-From an Elder Butch Dyke(50),
-FeistyAmazon
P.S. I came out at 20. And I was living at home with my mother at the time, and did come out to her in the first 6 months. It was NOT easy.

Leave a Reply

